Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/forge/fabiennecolas.com/wp-content/themes/Divi/includes/builder/functions.php on line 4912
Notes biographiques sur Fabienne Colas

Notes biographiques

Sélectionnée parmi les (2018 Canada’s Top 40 under 40) Top 40 Canadiens influents et performants de moins de 40 ans en 2018, actrice primée, réalisatrice, conférencière et entrepreneur, Fabienne Colas se donne corps et âme pour supporter et promouvoir la Diversité à l’écran à travers le monde. Elle est la Reine de Festivals qui a créé et gère 7 festivals à succès entre Montréal, Toronto, New York City, Halifax et Port-au-Prince – incluant le Festival Intl. du Film Black de Montréal – le plus important festival du genre au Canada et acteur incontournable de la diversité culturelle au Québec – ainsi que le très populaire Festival du Film Black de Toronto.

En plus d’avoir attiré près d’1 million de festivaliers et diffusé plus de 2,000 artistes, ces festivals ont su accueillir et rendre hommage à de nombreuses célébrités de renommée internationale telles que: Harry Belafonte, Stedman Graham, Danny Glover, Spike Lee, Paul Haggis, Martin Luther King III, Dany Laferrière, Wyclef Jean, Alfre Woodard, Lou Gossett Jr., Bill Cobbs, Souleymane Cissé, Régine Chassagne et Win Butler (Arcade Fire), Clement Virgo, Gbenga Akinagbe, Manno Charlemagne, Emeline Michel et bien d’autres.

Nommée Personnalité de la Semaine par le Quotidien La Presse en 2018, sa principale mission est de continuer à créer des plateformes pour montrer une diversité de voix, de visages et de points de vue. En tant que présidente de la Fondation Fabienne Colas, elle soutient et promeut des films et artistes indépendants qui, autrement, seraient invisibles.

En 2015, Fabienne Colas reçoit la Médaille de l’Assemblée Nationale du Québec de la Ministre de l’Immigration, de la Diversité et de l’Inclusion du Québec, Madame Kathleen Weil, en reconnaissance de son leadership et de sa contribution à la lutte contre le racisme et la discrimination au Québec. En 2017, elle reçoit le Prix Harry Jerome Arts & Culture Award à Toronto. En 2018, elle a été lauréate du Gala Femmes en cinéma, télévision et média numériques (FCTMN) pour sa contribution exceptionnelle dans l’industrie cinématographique québécoise. Elle est également finaliste pour le Prix Charles Biddle  ainsi que le Prix Femmes d’Affaires du Québec en 2018.

En 2019, Fabienne recevra le Prix Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award du Black Theatre Workshop – rejoignant ainsi Oscar Peterson, Oliver Jones, Dany Laferrière, Gregory Charles, Doudou Boicel, Charlie Biddle, Tony Lee Williams… qui ont déjà reçu ce prix.

PDG de Zaza Production, elle a aussi siégé sur le conseil d’administration de la Société de Célébrations du 375e anniversaire de Montréal. Elle a fait partie de plusieurs jurys prestigieux du milieu artistique dont ceux du Conseil des Arts du Canada, Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et les Prix Gémeaux.

Elle signe, en 2008, son premier film Minuit, long-métrage de fiction sur le vodou dans lequel elle tenait aussi un rôle principal. Considérée encore aujourd’hui par plusieurs comme l’actrice la plus populaire du cinéma haïtien, gagnante de plusieurs prix d’interprétation dont le Ticket d’Or de la meilleure actrice (Barikad) en Haïti, Fabienne fut d’abord mannequin, puis Miss Haïti 2000 et a représenté Haïti à plusieurs concours de beauté en terre étrangère. En 2003, elle gagne le Ticket d’Or de la meilleure actrice pour le film Barikad en Haïti (réalisé par Richard Sénécal) et reçoit une nomination pour le même film au Haitian Entertainment Awards en Floride. Elle a joué dans plusieurs productions québécoises (Canada) tant sur le grand que sur le petit écran (Watatatow, l’Auberge du chien Noir, Comment Conquérir l’Amérique en une nuit) et est à la fois membre de l’Union des Artistes (UDA) et de l’Alliance of Canadian Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA) à Montréal. Elle est nommée lauréate du Mois de l’Histoire des Noirs en 2010 pour son importante implication au sein de la sa communauté.

En 2011, elle a obtenu deux licences pour deux chaînes de télévision sur le câble auprès du Conseil de la Radiodiffusion et des Télécommunications Canadiennes (CRTC). Ceci dans le but de favoriser une meilleure représentativité de la diversité culturelle à l’écran au Québec et au Canada.

www.fabiennecolas.com

www.FondationFabienneColas.org 

LinkedIn Twitter | Instagram | Facebook (Fan page) | Facebook (Personal account) | Youtube

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/forge/fabiennecolas.com/wp-content/themes/Divi/includes/builder/functions.php on line 4912
Fabienne Colas Biographical Notes

Biographical Notes

Named 2018 Canada’s Top 40 Under 40, award-winning actress, filmmaker, speaker, business owner and consultant Fabienne Colas works tirelessly and passionately to support and promote diversity off and on international screens. Known as the Queen of Festivals, Colas created and manages seven successful festivals in Montreal, Toronto, Halifax, New York City and Port-au-Prince, including the Montreal International Black Film Festival. This festival, along with the well-known Toronto Black Film Festival, has not only become Canada’s largest black film festival but has also played a key role in promoting cultural diversity across the country.

Aside from attracting close to a million festival-goers over the years and showcasing over 2,000 artists, the festivals have also welcomed and/or paid tribute to top international celebrities such as Harry Belafonte, Stedman Graham, Danny Glover, Spike Lee, Paul Haggis, Martin Luther King III, Dany Laferrière, Wyclef Jean, Alfre Woodard, Lou Gossett Jr., Bill Cobbs, Souleymane Cissé, Régine Chassagne & Win Butler (Arcade Fire), Clement Virgo, Gbenga Akinagbe, Manno Charlemagne, Emeline Michel and more.

Named Personality of the Week by La Presse in 2018, Colas’s primary mission is to continue creating platforms that show a diversity of voices, faces and points of view. As chairman and founder of the Fabienne Colas Foundation (FCF), she helps support, award grants, and promote independent films and artists who would otherwise not have been seen or heard.

In 2015, Fabienne was awarded a medal from Quebec’s National Assembly for her leadership and contribution to fighting against racism and discrimination in Quebec. In 2017, she received the prestigious Harry Jerome Arts and Culture Award from the Black Business Professional Association in Toronto. In 2018, Femmes en cinéma, télévision et médias numériques (FCTMN) paid tribute to Fabienne for her exceptional contribution to the Quebec film industry. In addition, she was nominated and chosen by the U.S. State Department as the 2017 as a leader to represent Canada during the International Visitor Leadership Program (IVLP), a three-week exchange leadership program. She is also a 2018 finalist for the Charles Biddle Award and the Prix Femmes d’affaires du Québec.

In 2019, she will receive the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Achievement Award from the Black Theatre Workshop, joining Oscar Peterson, Oliver Jones, Dany Laferrière, Gregory Charles, Doudou Boicel, Charlie Biddle, and Tony Lee Williams—some of many personalities who have previously received this award.

Colas is the CEO of the media & business consulting company Zaza Production. She sat as a board member on the Society for the Celebrations of Montréal’s 375th Anniversary. She has been part of many juries, including the Canada Council for the Arts, Prix Gémeaux, and Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec.

In 2008, she made her first film, Minuit, a narrative feature on voodoo in which she also played the leading role. Considered by many as the most popular actress in Haitian cinema, Fabienne started out as a model, was crowned Miss Haiti in 2000 and has represented Haiti in numerous beauty contests around the world. In 2003, she was awarded the Ticket d’Or (golden ticket) in Haiti for best actress for her role in the film Barikad (directed by Richard Sénécal) and was also nominated for this same role at the Haitian Entertainment Awards in Florida. She has acted on both the big and the small screens in a number of productions in Quebec, Canada (Watatatow, l’Auberge du chien Noir, Comment Conquérir l’Amérique en une nuit).

Fabienne is a member of both Canadian professional acting unions: the Union des Artistes (UDA) and the Alliance of Canadian Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA). She won the Black History Month Award in 2010 for her great involvement in her community.

In 2011, she obtained a licence for two television stations, from the Canadian Radio-television Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), with a view to promoting a better representation of cultural diversity on televisions in Canada.

www.fabiennecolas.com

www.FondationFabienneColas.org 

LinkedIn Twitter Instagram Facebook (Fan page) | Facebook (Personal account) | Youtube